Tuesday, 31 May 2011

Jazz Icons: Series 3 Box Set (8 DVDs)

Jazz Icons: Series 3 Box Set (8 DVDs)**Exclusive Bonus Disc** Sonny Rollins: This collection includes two Sonny Rollins 1959 European concerts in which he is accompanied by recently re-discovered bassist Henry Grimes. Rahsaan Roland Kirk: performs Oliver Nelson's Stolen Moments backed by a cream-of-the-crop European rhythm section consisting of drummer Daniel Humair, pianist George Gruntz, and bassist Guy Pedersen.
A super-modest Sonny Rollins is interviewed in Stockholm 1959 before he performs Ellington's It Don't Mean A Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing at a blistering tempo with bebop-era standout Joe Harris on drums and Henry Grimes on bass.
Nina Simone: This collection includes a no-holds-barred Nina Simone live performance of Mississippi Goddamn followed by an interview with the Swedish program host. Features a 12 page booklet with liner notes by Ashley Khan, John Kruth and Rob Bowman.

Price: $119.99

Click here to buy from Amazon

No comments:

Post a Comment